Village Pavilion

Just a quick follow-up on one of my earliest blogs about the Officers Club.  I just discovered that it’s now called the Village Pavilion and apparently it is used for conferences and large events.  Here is the official site; clicking around on some of the links at the top reveals some pictures featuring the large chandeliers which I was pretty sure I remembered.   The site has no mention of Der Keller, so I assume that bar/casual eatery no longer exists in the basement.

In addition, here’s a youtube video of a briefing covering the Army’s impending move from Heidelberg to Wiesbaden.  In the first minute of the video you get a few views of what I remember as the formal dining room.  The chandeliers are seen there as well, and I also noticed the restaurant-style double doors in the background with the circular windows.  There’s even a glimpse of the tall curtains I remember being along the left wall.  Looks like the grand piano has been moved elsewhere, though.

And finally, not strictly related, I found this page which has a picture of the dining room from the 1960s.

Maybe not such a big deal, but it was interesting for me to see the interior of this building for the first time in over 30 years and validate some distant childhood memories.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Village Pavilion

  1. Pingback: Officers Club, part 2 « Patrick Henry Village

  2. Trish

    My father informed me the other day there are no longer separate clubs for officers, enlisted and NCOs, so the Village Pavilion is for all.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

