Photo: The Intersection near the Elementary School

Below is another photo I found on the internet, providing a ground-level view of a particular intersection in PHV which conjures up a lot of memories for me.  Many of these I’ve already detailed in my post about the elementary school, which is just out of the picture to the left, but below the picture I’ll briefly mention them again and add a few other details.  This picture is from 1979 or 1980, which is exactly the timeframe in which I was living in PHV.

(I felt a little uncomfortable reusing this picture since it’s clearly a family photo, so I contacted the owner and got permission…and also learned that he worked with my Dad back in those days!  Click the picture to link to the flickr gallery where I originally found this)

354071740_939995673d_b

The first things I notice in this picture are the crosswalks.  I crossed these streets many times coming and going from school and even got to be a crossing guard for a time, which I recall being a special privilege for good grades or something.  I seem to recall thinking that jaywalking was a serious offense back then, so these crosswalks may as well have been bridges over a river.

Just behind those bushes to the right is where I had my ridiculous Battlestar Galactica-inspired fist fight, as described in the Elementary School blog I linked above.  Behind those bushes you can see a blue VW minibus.  That parking lot is where the big bus full of wooden nutcrackers and other trinkets would park, as I described in my Shopping blog entry.

On the left side of the picture you can see the sidewalk curving back into the distance, which is how I walked home after school when I didn’t have to go to Mrs. Taylor’s.  Whenever I’m reminded of the “don’t take candy from strangers” lesson that we all hear as kids, I always think of this particular stretch of sidewalk for some reason — I must have first been told that lesson during my days of walking that sidewalk frequently.  Similarly, when I hear the proverb “a bird in the hand beats two in the bush” I always think of the bushes next to that first quarters building on the left side of the road — I seem to remember coming across a bird’s nest in one of them during a walk home from school.

Off picture about 3 buildings to the right is where Mrs. Taylor ran a daycare center out of her apartment.  When staying there after school, we were allowed to romp around the local area but were not allowed to cross the street at the left.  One day I got into a bit of trouble and decided to hide out, and I thought I was being particularly clever by crossing the street and hiding behind the row of campers which was perpetually in that lot at the far left.  I remember one of Mrs. Taylor’s teenaged daughters appearing around the front of that building at the right, clearly looking for me, but I’d outsmarted her by leaving the sanctioned area.

Also in that building at the right, I remember there lived an Asian woman (probably somebody’s mom) with some of the longest hair I’ve ever seen.  I want to say it was approaching the backs of her knees, but I feel like my mind may have exaggerated it over the years.  Not sure if that was more of a style back then, or was unusual even for the time.

Behind those campers in the distance you can see a smaller white building, which is the building we used to climb up as I detailed in the Hedge Tunnel blog entry; I think it served as a concession stand for the track and football field which is out of view just to the left of it.

I know some of these memories seem random and highly specific, but you never know what might trigger a memory or draw a connection with someone else so I try to throw as much out there as I can.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Photo: The Intersection near the Elementary School

  1. Hi there, I found your website by the use of Google at the same time as looking
    for a comparable subject, your web site got here up,
    it looks great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just was aware of your weblog via Google, and located that it’s really informative. I’m going
    to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate in case you continue this in future. Numerous other folks will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. My brother recommended I may like this web site. He was entirely right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!

    Thanks!

  3. Good day! I simply wish to give you a big thumbs up for the great
    info you have got right here on this post. I am coming back to your website for more soon.

  4. Thanks for this! i have so many memories in my head from being in PHV from 1992-1995, when I was in high school. I lived in Landstuhl in elementary school. I have so little photos from these years that include the world surrounding me…this photo alone flooded me with memories! Of that intersection. Of the weather, gray clouds, wet ground. The strange cleanliness and order and symetry of PHV…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

